Franciscan Prayers | Catholic Prayers | Liturgy of the Hours | Centering Prayer | Franciscan Prayerbook

Secular Franciscans are people of deep and frequent prayer. We attend Holy Mass as often as possible and pray in the community and in private.

The brothers and sisters, as well as the fraternities, should adhere to the indications of the Ritual with respect to the different forms of participating in the liturgical prayer of the Church, giving priority to the celebration of the Liturgy of the Hours.

— General Constitutions of the Secular Franciscan Order, 14.4

The primary daily prayers for the Order are the Liturgy of the Hours and the Franciscan Crown Rosary. The Liturgy of the Hours (also referred to as the Divine Office) is also used by priests, deacons, and consecrated religious. We generally pray morning prayer daily in private or with our families, and evening prayer in community each month and in private or with family each day.

When you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, who love to stand and pray in the synagogues and on street corners so that others may see them. Amen, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.

— Matthew 6:5-6

Franciscan Prayers

Prayer before the San Damiano Crucifix

Most High, glorious God,
enlighten the darkness of my heart. 

Give me true faith, certain hope
and perfect clarity,
sense and knowledge

that I may carry out Your
Holy and true command.

Blessing of Saint Francis

May the Lord bless you.
May the Lord keep you.
May He show His face to you

and have mercy.

May He turn to you His countenance

and give you peace.
The Lord bless you.

Peace Prayer (Prayer of St. Francis)

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.

Where there is hatred, let me sow love.

Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is discord, union;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is error, truth;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.

O, Divine Master, grant that I may not

so much seek to be consoled as to console.

To be understood, as to understand;

To be loved, as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive,

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

The Canticle of the Creatures

Most High, all-powerful, good Lord,

Yours are the praises, the glory, and the honor, and all blessing.

To You alone, Most High, do they belong, 

and no human is worthy to mention Your name.

Praised be You, my Lord, with all Your creatures, 

especially Sir Brother Son, who is the day and through whom You give us light.

And he is beautiful and radiant with great splendor;

and bears a likeness of You, Most High One.

Praised be You, my Lord, through Sister Moon and the stars, in heaven You formed them clear and precious and beautiful.

Praised be You, my Lord, through Brother Wind, 

and through the air, cloudy and serene, and every kind of weather, through whom You give sustenance to Your creatures.

Praised be You, my Lord, through Sister Water, 

who is very useful and humble and precious and chaste.

Praised be You, my Lord, through Brother Fire, 

through whom You light the night, and he is beautiful and playful and robust and strong.

Praised be You, my Lord, through our Sister Mother Earth, who sustains and governs us, and who produces various fruit with colored flowers and herbs.

Praised be You, my Lord, through those who give pardon for Your love, and bear infirmity and tribulation.

Blessed are those who endure in peace for by You, 

Most High, shall they be crowned.

Praised be You, my Lord, through our Sister Bodily Death, from whom no one living can escape. Woe to those who die in mortal sin.

Blessed are those whom death will find in Your most holy will, for the second death shall do them no harm.

Praise and bless my Lord and give Him thanks and serve Him with great humility.

Franciscan Crown Rosary

The Franciscan Crown is a seven-decade rosary recalling the seven joys of Mary. Each decade consists of one Our Father and 10 Hail Marys.

The Seven Joys of Mary

First Joy: The Immaculate Virgin Mary conceived Jesus by the Holy Spirit.

Second Joy: The immaculate Virgin Mary carried Jesus when she visited Elizabeth.

Third Joy: The Immaculate Virgin Mary brought Jesus into the world.

Fourth Joy: The Immaculate Virgin Mary exhibited Jesus to the adoration of the Magi.

Fifth Joy: The Immaculate Virgin Mary found Jesus in the Temple.

Sixth Joy: Immaculate Virgin Mary beheld Jesus after His resurrection.

Seventh Joy: The Immaculate Virgin Mary was received by Jesus into heaven, and crowned Queen of heaven and earth.